Caring for lavendar

Lavendar edging the lawn next to the driveway

Lavendar edging the lawn next to the driveway

May lavendar in the Swiss Alps, heather

May lavendar in the Swiss Alps, heather

I used to ignore my lavendar, an easy plant that seemed happy enough left alone.

Then I looked at a neighbour’s lavendar, neatly trimmed in the spring and realized I could cut back the old flowers – I have far too much, and too little time, to cut and dry it all and use it in underwear drawers, which the Swiss love to do.

Now I make this one of my early spring pruning tasks, which means mid-April if the snow is gone.

They can be given a machine haircut, but I don’t recommend it because the flowers end up everywhere, including on the lawn and some of them re-seed.

So I grab fistfuls and clippers and add them to the communal compost. Some day the hillside where we dump thiings will be covered in lavendar, I hope!

I’ve also learned that I can cut back outer branches on some of the happiest lavendar plants that spread out far more than I want, since I use them to edge part of the lawn. I want to see the lawn, too!

Here’s what one of my purple lavendar bushes looks like a month after I cut it back, getting ready for warm weather, next to the heather which is shifting from spring purple to summer rusty tones.

Leave a Reply

